When the love bug bites!


“At the touch of love everyone becomes a poet” said a great Greek philosopher ages ago. How true! When the love bug bites people are known to go blind to the realities of life.

I have had the un-fortunate experience of being bitten by this fatal bug and walking through the day in a dreamy stupor, un-conscious of anything other than a weird airy lightness in my heart and a tendency to giggle at everything.Not only did this bug make me stupid enough to venture further on the bumpy roads of love but also hypnotised me into overlooking the obvious short comings of the person responsible for the bug bite!

The bug made me like weird slow motion songs that would otherwise have not interested me. The world looked prettier, the upma tasted better, the mirror became my friend. Beauty routines became the order of the day. My heart beat became errant and gave a skip every once in a while.

The bug bite then worsened to a rash bringing in the fever of longing in its wake. Breathing became difficult with that sinking feeling in the pit of the stomach induced by pining for the un-attainable. I sunk deeper day by day; friends feared for the worst.

No remedy worked. Doctors despaired. One year ticked by.

And then one day I woke up in a cold sweat, my mind clearer than ever, all the bug’s after effects washed away. The wound had healed but the scar still remained.

4 thoughts on “When the love bug bites!

  1. Hey, Hi
    The Love bug….nicely described….the airy lightness…the slow songs….forgot “the spring in the feet” effect?? hehehe…
    nice…

    Regards,
    The Silhoeutte…

Leave a comment